Monday, June 23, 2008 | Posted in

Craig G MySpace Page

Listen to track 4, "Made The Change"
Listen to track 6, "We Gets It In" feat. Talib Kweli

Legendary Juice Crew members Craig G & Marley Marl team up once again to release Operation Take Back Hip-Hip. On the heels of Marley Marl's successful album Hip-Hop Lives from 2007 with KRS-One and the announcement of a major motion picture entitled The Vapors based on the Juice Crew's story, a full fledged renaissance is under way. The albums instantly catchy single "Made The Change" (also available from Traffic on June 17th) has already been lighting radio waves on fire, while "The Day The Music Died" shows why Craig G is still one of the most respected lyricists in the game and why he was chosen to write key portions of Eminem's "8 Mile" and 50 Cent's "Get Rich Or Die Trying" movies. Operation Take Back Hip-Hip features a top notch lineup of guest emcees that includes KRS-One, Cormega, Rakaa of Dilated Peoples and Sadat X. Craig G and Marley Marl first worked together way back in 1985 with the release of the two classic 12" singles "Shout" and "Transformer". In 1988, their undeniable chemistry was cemented with their legendary effort entitled "Droppin' Science", from the Marley Marl In Control album. This led to them working together on Craig G's major label solo albums at the turn of the decade. Today, the two effortlessly prove the magic is still there.

01. Intro 00:15
02. Reintroduction 03:41
03. Quality Work (Feat Will Pack & Rakaa Of Dilated Peoples) 03:59
04. Made The Change 04:16
05. Deep Down 04:17
06. We Gets It In (Feat Talib Kweli) 03:33
07. Just What I Need 03:04
08. All Seasons 04:24
09. War Going On (Feat Cormega) 04:13
10. Skates 03:49
11. Stay In Ya Lane (Feat Sadat X) 04:07
12. Open Ya Eyes 04:20
13. Regrets 04:19
14. Not A Word 03:11
15. Rock Dis (Feat KRS-One) 02:46
16. Don't Make Me Laugh 03:39
17. The Day The Music Died 07:02
18. How About The Mic (Feat Cold Heat) (Hidden Track)

If you copped the album Marley Marl did with KRS-One last year, "Hip Hop Lives" then this is basically pt. 2 with the legendary Craig G, definitely worth checking out!