Tuesday, August 26, 2008 | Posted in ,

Akuma MySpace Page
Factor MySpace Page

Dawn of a New Era, the second of three collaborative efforts between Factor and L.A.-based wackos the Shapeshifters, brings Akuma together with the owner and in-house producer of Saskatoon, SK’s Side Road Records. Factor once again provides a mostly mellow and laidback, multi-layered backdrop perfect for the introspective and melancholy raps of Akuma on the paranoid “Voices in My Head” and “Go Away,” the love ballad “Never Let You Go,” and the life lessons of “No Regret” with ‘Shifters Die Young and Liferexall (the latter working with Factor and Oldominion’s Barfly as Candy’s .22, the third of the Shapeshifters/Factor collaborations). But Factor also delivers a few banging beats for Akuma’s soul-shredding battle raps and fist-pumping anthems, like “Get Acquainted” with Doc Lewd and Matre, and the two cartoon-ish tracks, “Dawn of a New Era” and “Dig Dig Dig’ with Radioinactive and Awol One (the latter being the first ‘Shifter to collaborate with Factor on a Side Road seven-inch). But, regardless of beat or subject matter, Akuma’s gruff, baritone voice is easy to understand with a slow-paced, deliberate delivery that occasionally breaks into song; and combined with Factor’s very musical productions, Dawn of a New Era might just be the most accessible Shapeshifters release to date.

01. Intro
02. Get Up, Stand Up
03. Frozen In Time Featuring Xololanxinxo & Die Young
04. Voices In My Head
05. Dig Dig Dig Featuring Awol One & Radioinactive
06. I Bring Rage
07. What'll You Do
08. No Regret Featuring Die Young & LIferexall
09. Never Let You Go
10. Get Acquainted Featuring Doc Lewd & Matre
11. Go Away
12. Move Over Featuring Nolto
13. Dawn Of A New Era