Tuesday, November 18, 2008 | Posted in ,,


88-Keys' prestige was established back in the late 90’s when he was producing cuts for lyrical titans like Mos Def and Talib Kweli. This time around though, Keys wants to get something off his chest in front of the mic. On The Death of Adam (Decon), Keys tells the story of a man, Adam, who dies over his love/hate relationship with the sugar-walled juice-box named Pussy.

As far as theme albums go, Keys puts together a sequence with few, if any, holes. On songs like “The Friends Zone” about “BFF - Best fucking friend," and "Close Call" featuring Little Brother's own Phonte, Keys warns against the hazards of unprotected sex, or else risk the perilous fate talked about in other songs like, “The Burning Bush” featuring Redman and “Dirty Peaches” featuring J*Davey.

Thankfully, Keys uses his sophisticated musical sensibilities to keep the theme out of redundancy. Samples of rock and R&B soul classics are fused with smart jazz arrangements throughout The Death of Adam. Philly neo-soul crooner Bilal takes the Sly & The Family stone classic, “Mother Beautiful” and reworks it into an impressive groove, appropriately entitled "M.I.L.F”. Then there’s the album’s first single, “Stay Up (Viagra),” featuring Kanye West and showing off sampling skills reminiscent of the late, J. Dilla.

The Death of Adam’s true obscure twist is when 88 filters his vocals to sound muffled in the majority of his tracks, causing his message to fall faint, such as in "Handcuff 'Em." Still he stands strong, as a singer, rapper and producer, without over-stepping or being over-shadowed. 88-Keys rejuvenates Adam and Eve's original sin, as a headstrong, every-man, pussy-claiming storyteller.

01. Morning Wood 04:02
02. Nice Guys Finish Last 02:11
03. The Friends Zone (feat. Shitake Monkey) 04:03
04. Handcuff ‘Em 02:53
05. Stay Up! (Viagra) (feat. Kanye West) 03:09
06. There’s Pleasure In It 01:30
07. (Awww Man) Round 2? 02:38
08. Dirty Peaches (feat. J’Davey) 04:25
09. Close Call (feat. Phonte) 03:54
10. The Burning Bush (feat. Redman) 03:48
11. Ho’ Is Short For Honey (feat. Kid Cudi) 03:03
12. No. I Said I LIKED You 01:43
13. M.I.L.F. (feat. Bilal) 03:48
14. Another Victim 02:23