Sunday, July 06, 2008 | Posted in

MySpace Page

Rapper Big John from Tacoma, Washington has done more in one year than most can do in four. In twelve short months, Big John has managed to establish and manage his own label, record two full length albums, start an international group (coming soon), and perform alongside Hip Hop legends Kool G Rap, Kool Keith, Canibus, Kut Masta Kurt, and R.A. The Rugged Man. Big John's rap style is rapid fire, raw, and aggressive and on "The Next Step," he teams up with producers from all around the world to give the album a balanced sound. Production credits include Loptimist (South Korea), DC The Midi Alien (USA), Carling Edno (Italy), Beyonder (USA), Lizzo (Germany) and more! Featured tracks for "The Next Step" include two songs with Canibus, three with Boston rap veteran Esoteric, the iconic Kool G Rap, R.A. The Rugged Man and more!

Listen to track 2, "3 Kings" feat. Kool G Rap & R.A. The Rugged Man

01. Intro (Prod. By Clockwork)
02. 3 Kings (Ft. Kool G Rap & R.A. The Rugged Man) (Prod. By Loptimist)
03. The Next Step (Prod. By Loptimist)
04. Amazing Stories (Ft. Canibus & Esoteric) (Prod. By Beyonder)
05. Down-Wit-Us (Ft. Mic Daily) (Prod. By Clockwork)
06. Fuck Ya'll (Prod. By DC The Midi Alien)
07. Pain Killer (Prod. By DC The Midi Alien)
08. One More Bar (Ft. Canibus & Esoteric) (Prod. By Beyonder)
09. Payback (Prod. By Lizzo)
10. Pain & Agony (Prod. By Clockwork)
11. How We Do (Ft. Mic Daily) (Prod. By Carling Edno)
12. Lopzillas (Ft. Esoteric, Mic Daily & Beyonder) (Prod. By Loptimist)
13. Outro (Prod. By DC The Midi Alien)

I'll be honest, Big John don't really do it for me when he's on the mic... unless you like that kinda screaming, shouting voice and basic battle lines, but when you got dope beats from Loptimist, DC the MIDI Alien to name a couple and guests like the Kool G Rap, R.A the Rugged Man, Esoteric, Canibus etc... then you can't really go wrong. I know this album slipped past a few people when it was released beginning of the year but def check it out... bangin beats and guest spots elevate this album from sub-standard to pretty dope!