MySpace Page

Short group bio:
Boot Camp Clik is an American hip hop supergroup from Brooklyn, New York. The group consists of Buckshot (of Black Moon), Smif-N-Wessun, also known as Cocoa Brovaz (Tek and Steele), Heltah Skeltah (Rock and Ruck, aka Sean Price) and O.G.C. (Originoo Gunn Clappaz) (Starang Wondah, Top Dog, and Louieville Sluggah).

Though commercial success has largely eluded them, the Camp has gained a large following in the underground rap community. Principally known for their hardcore content, in their later years the group also began adding personal and socially conscious aspects to their lyrics, and were among the first rap acts to infuse elements of Reggae into their music. Buckshot, along with Black Moon, also helped establish the backpacker scene in underground hip hop.

The Camp reached the height of their popularity in the mid-90s, with the release of four acclaimed albums, Black Moon's Enta Da Stage, Smif-N-Wessun's Dah Shinin', Heltah Skeltah's Nocturnal, and O.G.C.'s Da Storm. These albums spawned a number of underground rap hits, most notably Black Moon's "Who Got Da Props?" and "I Got Cha Opin (Remix)", Smif-N-Wessun's "Bucktown", "Sound Bwoy Bureill", and "Wrekonize", Heltah Skeltah's "Leflaur Leflah Eshkoshka", "Letha Brainz Blo" and "Operation Lock Down", and O.G.C.'s "No Fear", "Hurricane Starang", and "Danjer". Despite the acclaim of the albums and the minor success of the singles, no Boot Camp affiliated release was able to reach Gold sales status. Following the lukewarm reception for the Camp's first group album For the People, the crew's popularity began declining, eventually leading to a lengthy hiatus from the rap game. Since returning independently in 2002, the Camp has been able to regain their past popularity in underground hip hop with a number of acclaimed underground releases.

Since their inception, the Boot Camp has spawned a number of affiliates. The group's earliest affiliate is the production-crew Da Beatminerz, lead by Black Moon's DJ Evil Dee and his older brother Mr. Walt. Da Beatminerz originally produced the majority of the Camp's work, but since 1997, they have taken a backseat to a number of outside producers. Other affiliates include rappers the Representativz (consisting of Supreme and Lidu Rock, the younger brother of Heltah Skeltah's Rock), Illa Noyz (the younger brother of Heltah Skeltah's Sean Price), M.S., LS, BJ Swan, The BTJ's (Bucktown Juveniles), Rustee Juxx, Doc Holiday, Thunderfoot and Lil' Hardcore, Reggae-vocalists Jahdan and Twanie Ranks and R&B-vocalist group F.L.O.W. Though Black Moon is closely connected to the group, members 5ft and DJ Evil Dee are not official members of the Boot Camp Clik.

For The People is the debut album from Hip Hop collective Boot Camp Clik, consisting of Buckshot from Black Moon, Cocoa Brovaz, formerly known as Smif-N-Wessun, Heltah Skeltah and O.G.C. The crew officially organized in 1995, with all eight members appearing on the song "Cession At Da Doghillee" from Smif-N-Wessun's Dah Shinin'. The album features a different sound then that heard on previous Camp related releases, with the crew abandoning their past production crew Da Beatminerz, instead recording with live instrumentation. The sound put off many fans, and the album received mediocre reviews and went on to sell just over 300,000 copies in the United States.

This album was re-released as Still For the People on April 24, 2007

01. 1-900 Get Da Boot (Feat. The Original K.I.M.)
02. Down By Law (Feat. Tony Touch & Dru-Ha)
03. Night Riders (Feat. LaVoice)
04. Headz Are Reddee Pt. II
05. Watch Your Step (Feat. Representativz)
06. Illa Noyz (Feat. Illa Noyz)
07. Rag Time (Feat. Mada Rocka & LS)
08. Blackout (Feat. BJ Swan, Supreme & Illa Noyz)
09. Ohkeedoke (Feat. M.S.)
10. Rugged Terrain (Feat. Twanie Ranks)
11. The Dugout
12. Go For Yours (Feat. The B.T.J.'s)
13. Likkle Youth Man Dem
14. Last Time (Feat. BJ Swan & F.L.O.W.)

Thought I'd throw up that little bio as it was very interesting and informative, anyway, my thoughts on the debut BCC album:Very diffrent to their previous solo albums, no Beatminerz and completely different sound, strings, live instruments etc... This album was very hit and miss with a lot of BCC fans, understandedly so, half had high expectations to to previous efforts, only to feel let down by the sudden change in sound and the other half who understood where the BCC where coming from with their change of direction and welcomed it with open arms. I guess over time, I fell into both categories, yeah when I first heard it a couple times, it stayed on the shelf for a good while, but after hearing their most recent dope releases, I went back, flung it back in the stereo and spazzed out... I just thought FUCK IT, it's the BCC and noboby comes close to them in terms of longevity, consistency (a couple minor steps tho) and overall hip hop superiority. They've been releasing quality material since 1992 and continue to do so till this very day. Final thoughts on this album... not a patch on there debut solo releases but still a quality release in it's own right. So I think this is definiely a slept on album, not a classic but because people were quick to dismiss this on it's first release, it should be copped and given another go, it just might grow you, second go round.