Monday, September 22, 2008 | Posted in ,,


On her incredible debut, the artist formerly known as What ? What ? finally gets her own set after appearing on records by The Herbaliser, The High & Mighty, and Masta Ace. With production from Mr. Len, Da Beatminerz, and Evil Dee, Jean Grae and her label Third Earth leave nothing to chance in widely exposing what may be the most innovative female voice in hip-hop since Missy Elliott or Mary J. Blige. Over soul-heavy samples and a diverse helping of beats, Jean Grae’s lyrics are strong with empowerment, confidence, and even irony in pointing out her obviously overlooked career thus far — blasting record companies, oozing creativity and lyrical sophistication, and exposing a feminist cunning and graceful New York swagger that’s both hard hip-hop and funky R&B. As a woman still in her twenties with this level of lyrical gift and vocal depth, Attack of the Attacking Things should be the first of many breakthrough records in her career.

01. Intro 1:14
02. What Would I Do 3:42
03. God's Gift 3:55
04. Block Party 6:18
05. No Doubt 4:27
06. Bubblin Skit 0:38
07. Thank Ya 2:59
08. Love Song 6:08
09. Get It 3:52
10. Knock 3:42
11. Live For You 4:32
12. Fade Out 1:47