Thursday, March 12, 2009 | Posted in ,

Radio is not your average instrumental album. Exile did not want to just put beats on a record. He wanted everything to be unique and different, from the starting concept to the final message of Radio. Sampling vocals off the radio, Exile overcame the challenge and succeeded in creating a positive message on an instrumental album. As Exile says, "Good and evil are present on the radio. With this record I express love in contrast to evil. I did not want to put an album out showing only my talent… I needed to share with the listener what I have learned from my life. In this case, the radio."

Los Angeles based artist Aleksander "Exile" Manfredi is not the first in his family to create music. His father, Albert Trent Manfredi (R.I.P.) and grandfather Alberico Manfredii were both musicians. His father released some 45's in the 1960's that are now highly sought after. His grandfather not only taught music but also played in a diverse mix of bands ranging from Mariachi to traditional Italian music.

At an early age Exile was exposed to a wide variety of music. Living in his grandfather's garage, he learned to play the accordion. His father was experimenting with drugs at the time and was not around much. Exile moved with his mother and sister to a two bedroom, Section 8 apartment. With no money or car and barely enough food… paid for with welfare checks and food stamps, he sought refuge in music.

Exile's early exposure to Hip Hop grew into the desire to create the music he loved himself. At the age of 18, Exile met up with rapper, Aloe Blacc, 16 years old at the time. With a one-button sampler and a four track they formed Emanon and started making their own albums. Exile, then met 19 year old rapper Blu and together started work on his solo effort Dirty Science, featuring Slum Village, MED and Ghostface Killah. Together they also made the critically acclaimed classic, Blu and Exile's Below The Heavens.

After producing tracks for artists such as Mobb Deep, Jurassic 5, Akon and Snoop Dog; he continues to excel in the art of creating music with his first instrumental album entitled Radio. This is an album you can listen to from start to finish and expect to be taken on a ride each time. Let us spread the awareness, understanding and appreciation of Radio.

01. Frequency Modulation (2:47)
02. Population Control (3:10)
03. Were all in Power (3:59)
04. Watch out! False Prophet (4:00)
05. The Machine (2:22)
06. It's Coming Down (3:53)
07. So We Can Move (3:14)
08. The Sound Is God (4:26)
09. Your Summer Song (3:27)
10. Mega Mix (5:35)
11. In Tune Static (5:34)
12. San Pedro Cactus (3:27)
13. Love Line (4:11)
14. Stay Tuned (Here) (4:45)
15. In Love (4:33)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic