Wednesday, April 01, 2009 | Posted in ,

The Tones are progressive masters in the creation of soulful, honest hip hop in its most appealing form. Being compared to the likes of Blackstar, Tribe Called Quest, Slum Village, De La Soul, Little Brother and even Mobb Deep, many might wonder how such a sound can be derived from the California Bay Area.

This versatile duo consists of rapper-producer, Retro, and rapper-singer, Suhn. Since the group first formed in 2001, The Tones have toured with the likes of Common, Slum Village, Little Brother, Roots’ drummer QuestLove, and Dr. Cornell West to name a few. Within the same period of time, Suhn and Retro have developed great musical chemistry along with friendship. Together, they have grown from amateurs to professionals, from brothers to fathers, and, from dreamers to conquerors. Still they never stop dreaming. The Tones have ambitions and aspirations to create multi-platinum selling albums and, eventually, become CEOs of their own respective companies.

‘Dreamtalk’ is an album about pursuing dreams and living through the struggles and pleasures encountered on the way. It also gives motivation to others in pursuit of their dreams. Mixing together a collection of laid back soul grooves and hard, vintage beats along with potent rhyme content, The Tones are sure to deliver a classic album... hence the album review.
The Tones are a breath of freedom and a testament that Hip hop hasn’t died. It just needs a breath of fresh air; The Tones; creators of music that transcends genres beyond hip hop; or, simply put in the words of Grammy nominated artist Common, “some real soulful brothers.”

01. Get U High Pt. 1
02. From The Ground Up
03. The Movemeant
04. Invited Me
05. Turn Me On
06. Road Ahead
07. Fly Angel
08. Far Away
09. Beautiful
10. No More
11. Searching
12. Get U High Pt. 2
13. If You Could Change
14. Dreamtalk
15. Without You

Image and video hosting by TinyPic