Monday, June 16, 2008 | Posted in ,,

MySpace Page

Listen to track 15, "So Bad" feat. Tone Liv
Listen to track 26, "Baby"

This is the perfect companion piece to City Slick, fans of Madlib & J. Dilla will love this album.

01 00:35 Intro
02 01:35 Imwityou
03 04:02 The Flyest
04 02:32 Throwback sh*t
05 01:13 Somebeat
06 02:11 Tilthesuncomesup
07 02:29 Fortune Cookies
08 01:08 Heroin (Prod. Ill Don)
09 02:41 Green
10 03:00 Crazy
11 03:21 727
12 01:09 Interlude
13 02:00 Cereal ft. Decay
14 02:32 WWIV ft. Butta Verses
15 02:25 So Bad ft. Tone Liv
16 01:17 Anothabeat
17 02:14 Summertime
18 02:48 Bang!
19 01:04 Interlude
20 03:13 Slop ft. Decay
21 02:23 All I Need
22 01:12 Onemorebeat
23 01:38 Lastone
24 01:13 Interlude
25 04:55 Funkclub
26 02:46 Baby

Comprised of emcees/producers Fluent and Selfish, Uncut Raw claims both Akron, Ohio and Chicago, Illinois as their home-territory. Their debut album, a 26-track patchwork of dusty (and dusted) Hip-Hop titled First Toke, is out now on the independent Green Llama Records. At the risk of sounding melodramatic, it's the kind of album (like Enta Da Stage, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Funcrusher plus, and Operation: Doomsday) that comes along every now-and-again to remind me of exactly what I love about Hip-Hop, offering assurances that no matter what happens, real, raw, dirty-sounding, sample-based Hip-Hop can't ever die. When I put a track from First Toke on a recent podcast I described it as "under-under-underground, super-duper Indie-Rap, backpack craziness" and "gutter, basement, recorded-in-the-bathroom Rap." If you're a fan of the beatmaking aesthetic and lyrical styling of classic Wu Tang Clan, early MF Doom, Dilla's Stones Throw output, and Madlib at his dustiest, you need the tapedeck-era throwback-Rap of Uncut Raw's First Toke. *Review taken from*