Sunday, August 10, 2008 | Posted in ,,,,

MySpace Page

Every once in a while an emcee comes out of nowhere and releases a mind-blowing modern hip-hop classic debut album that is filled with intelligence, insanity, sharp wit, and a balance of solid beats and tight rhymes. Louis Logic has been making some minor noise in the underground circuit for some time now. His association with Apathy and The Demigodz gave him some shine but only now is he getting the recognition he deserves.

He hooked up with Solid Records and released his debut solo album “Sin-A-Matic”. Produced by J.J. Brown, Memo Of The Molemen, The Avid Record Collector and others, “Sin-A-Matic” is unlike any other hip-hop album out today while it has that classic hip-hop feel at the same time. Lyrically, Louis Logic is a wild man. While some people compare him to Eminem due to his dark humor, hard punch lines, and sharp wit, Louis Logic is truly a unique emcee. While Eminem rhymes about doing drugs, Louis Logic is an unashamed alcoholic. He can drink almost anyone under the table. His friend, Vinnie from Jedi Mind Tricks dubbed him “The Dragon” or “The Drunken Dragon”. Even with tons of alcohol in his system, Louis Logic pumped out an album with songs that were both funny, poignant, intelligent, and devilishly clever. “The Ugly Truth” is a perfect example of a deliciously wicked Louis Logic track. Each verse explores the hatred of different religions, cultures, and races. Stereotypes and hateful (yet hilarious) remarks are made against Black people, gays, Asians, and more. Then, at the end of the song, the listener is shocked to hear that the narrator is actually George Bush. Many of the songs on “Sin-A-Matic” have this intense, hardcore wit.

Louis Logic finds the humor in the ugly. From freaking out on “Postal” to betrayal on “Best Friends” to retribution on “Revenge!” and sex and women on “Coochie Coup”, “Idiot Gear”, and “The Rest”, Louis Logic tackles both new and old themes in a completely fresh and exciting way. While known for his clever punch lines, Logic crafted his skill on telling exciting stories and rhyming in new and different ways. As an emcee, he is versatile, unique, and hungry. Fueled by tons of alcohol, he gets help from other emcees like Celph Titled and Apathy.

The album does have the cinematic quality where you can listen to the entire LP in one sitting. Louis Logic is more than just an emcee. He also writes for Elemental Magazine. On a hot evening in August 2003, Louis Logic and I sat down and had an in-depth conversation about alcohol, sex, women, hip-hop, racism, music business, and life in general. So, Delve into you dark side, explore your sins, crack open the beers, and let The Drunken Dragon roar.

1. Sintro (Produced by J.J. Brown)
2. Street Smarts (Produced by J.J. Brown)
3. Freak Show (Produced by Celph Titled)
4. Celph Hatred feat. Celph Titled (Produced by Celph Titled)
5. Diablos feat. Celph Titled (Produced by J.J. Brown)
6. Dos Factotum (Produced by J.J. Brown)
7. Coochie Coup (Produced by J.J. Brown)
8. Postal (Produced by J.J. Brown)
9. Mischievous (Produced by Celph Titled)
10. Halfway Stretch (Sinterlude) (Produced by Cimer Amor)
11. Best Friends feat. Apathy (Produced by Celph Titled)
12. Revenge feat. Celph Titled (Produced by Memo of Moleman)
13. Fair Weather Fan (Produced by Memo of Moleman)
14. The Rest (Produced by J.J. Brown)
15. The Ugly Truth (Produced by The Avid Record Collector)
16. Idiot Gear (Produced by J.J. Brown)
17. Dust to Dust (Produced by King Honey)
18. Get It Started (Bonus Track) (produced by J.J. Brown)