Monday, September 22, 2008 | Posted in


CLEAN GUNS is comprised of Knowledge Don aka Nico the Beast, a thoughtful lyricist with a knack for intricate and layered rhymes in the vein of Big Pun and the GZA of Wu-Tang Clan, and Zilla Rocca, an MC/producer heavily influenced by the vivid story-telling skills of Nas and the eccentric slang and abstract musings of Ghostface Killah and Aesop Rock.

The music of "Sometimes There is Trouble" is produced by Zilla Rocca on 10 tracks, with assistance by his CROOKED SOUL bandmates Starkey (on "Blast Off") Arkive (on "Nobody's Hero").

A hardcore hip hop album has rarely sounded this well-rounded: "Blast Off," "Bad Medicine," and "Swollen Digits" are hard-hitting bangers for Knowledge Don and Zilla Rocca to rip to shreds with sharp, aggressive rhymes.

Meanwhile, tracks such as "Good Clean Fun, Good Clean Guns" and lead single "Say Goodnight" featuring So-S@y are funk-oriented with groove and party based flows.

To cap it off, "Beautiful You," "Hold Your Glass High," and"Ode to the Dead" are emotionally honest pieces that sonically capture the love and appreciation of family and the heartbreak of death unexpected.

Clean Guns is a Philadelphia based hip hop group with a sound that is all their own.

1 Blast Off
2 Bad Medicine
3 Management f/ Johnny Darko and Arkive of Crooked Soul
4 These Words I Write
5 Knives on Trains
6 Good Clean Fun, Good Clean Guns
7 Beautiful You
8 Swollen Digits
9 Say Goodnight f/ So-S@y
10 Nobody's Hero
11 Ode to the Dead
12 Hold Your Glass High